Sponsor:  DMD Law LLP

This year’s Silas Wells competition was played on Monday 9th October in the Corstorphine Hub with eleven members entering with one group of six and one group of five. It is a quick play competition all play all in each group each player in each match having ten minutes for all moves. The winners of the groups play-off in the final to find a winner. In the first group John Massa and Chris Sykes both finished with 4 ½ out of 5 and in the play-off John won the game. Douglas May won the other group with a perfect score of 4 out of 4 and in the final John ran out winner over Douglas after a well fought game. This means that John Massa is this season’s winner of the Silas Wells Shield, which is not unusual for John having won the shield seven times before!

The various competitions have now started this season with a few games already played. In the Edinburgh Leagues in Division 1 Corstorphine 1 has played two matches drawing both 3 all, aiming to maintain a position in this strong division. In Division 3 Corstorphine 2 has played two matches winning both, a very good start to the season. In the same division Corstorphine 3 have also played two matches winning one and loosing the other. This is already better than the whole of last season. In the Allegro League the team has played four matches unfortunately loosing all four. We are clearly missing one or two strong players who were regulars last season but who have left the club. However we are determined to improve and one or two members have individually had very good wins against higher graded opponents. In the Scottish National Chess League, SNCL, the team has played two matches in Division 4 drawing both, so a 50% record so far.

The draw for the club championship has now been made and it will be circulated to all members. Nineteen members have entered meaning that a preliminary round involving six members is necessary with three winners going through to round 1 proper joining the other thirteen members straight through to the first round. The preliminary round is due to be completed by the 18th December.